The sun’s out – any excuse for ice cream!

25 Jul

Ice cream is one of my biggest weaknesses, especially when it’s hot outside or I’ve had a really good work out and feel like a treat. PD bought me the Ben and Jerry’s dessert recipe book a couple of years ago, coupled with an ice cream maker. For some reason I’ve only used it a couple of times – possibly because throughout the making process I am forced to come to terms with the naughty ingredients which go into the joy that is the finished product.

The book is fantastic, and the recipes are very easy. If you are a fan of home made ice cream I would highly recommend an ice cream maker, they can be picked up reasonably cheaply in many places and really make the whole process a lot less arduous. I was a little sceptical that the recipes would taste anything like the tubs in the high street stores, but I was pleasantly surprised. The first time I made ‘cookie dough’ ice cream it was gone within a few days. I told myself I would have only one spoonful, but then one spoonful inevitably became one bowlful and so the story went on…

A couple of tips for the cookie dough ice cream, whilst it was wonderful to be able to make everything from scratch it is rare that I would have the time these days. Most high street stores sell ready made cookie dough which works just as well. Additionally, add the cookie dough pieces to the ice cream after taking it out of the ice cream machine, otherwise it can really slow the machine down (especially the smaller ones).

So, onto the recipe of today. I have recently discovered that a friend of mine shares my guilty secret, and as she may be coming to visit on Sunday and as the temperatures are reaching high twenties, I thought it was a super excuse to try a new flavour or two. Unfortunately, the supermarket only sold double cream in the wrong proportions…so I had to make two flavours. It was simply economical. I decided on chocolate and coffee, two friends which go so well together.

Chocolate Ice Cream

  • 4 oz dark chocolate (I used Bourneville)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt

1. Melt chocolate in a bowl over hot water (make sure water doesn’t touch the bowl). Gradually whisk in the milk and heat, stirring constantly until smooth. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

2. Whisk eggs until light and fluffy, and then whisk in the sugar a little at a time until completely blended. Add cream, vanilla and salt and whisk to blend.

3. Pour the chocolate into the cream mixture and blend, then pop in the fridge for 1-3 hours depending on how cool your fridge is.

4. Transfer to the ice cream maker and freeze according to the maker’s instructions.

Coffee Ice Cream

  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 cups cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 tbsp instant coffee

1. Whisk eggs until light and fluffy, and then whisk in the sugar a little at a time until completely blended. Add the cream, milk and 2 tbsp coffee and whisk to blend.

2. Transfer to the ice cream maker and freeze according to the maker’s instructions.

3. About 2 mins before the ice cream is done add the remaining tbsp coffee and continue to freeze until the ice cream is ready.

Leave a Reply

