Home-made muesli

4 Aug

Muesli is one of my favourite every day breakfast cereals. I don’t really like all the fancy shmanzy types with the big crunchy bits and the hefty price tag; they can be full of sugar and all manner of odd additives. I like old fashioned, no-strings-attached, fruity muesli.

I had a load of bits and bobs left over in my baking cupboard which had been there for quite a while, so I thought I might as well try to make my own muesli. Oats themselves can be really cheap (I got a kilo for .75p), and although the initial shop for some of the dried fruits and nuts can be quite expensive, you only need a couple of handfuls and then the bag can go back in the cupboard to make some more next time. Also, I personally find that there never seems to be enough fruit in a lot of the supermarket mueslis, so I end up buying more dried fruit to sprinkle on top anyway! Overall, I do believe it works out cheaper.

Muesli really needs to be made up to your own taste, some ideas include: banana chips, dessicated coconut, pineapple chunks, hazelnuts, almonds, walnuts, pecans, seeds, sultanas, dates, apricots, porridge oats, bran, rye flakes……the list really is endless.

This is what I used (I’ve estimated the quantities as I didn’t measure anything, I just chucked it all in a tupperware container!):

  • ~500g oats
  • ~half a cup of sultanas
  • ~third a cup dried dates
  • ~third a cup dessicated coconut
  • good sprinkling of chopped almonds
  • good sprinkling of flaked almonds

It’s a great option for breakfast. Oats are full of fibre and slow releasing carbohydrates which keep your blood sugar steady. Additionally, depending on the nuts, seeds and dried fruits which are added, it can be an absolutely fantastic source of vitamins and minerals, and some of the healthy fats which help to control cholesterol levels. The perfect way to set you up for a lovely day!

2 Responses to “Home-made muesli”

  1. sybaritica August 6, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Nice mix. Good if you lightly toast everything in a dry pan too 🙂

    • DrinksAndNibbles August 7, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      Especially with the almonds and coconut – yum! Thanks for taking the time to comment, it’s much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

