Chinese Style Pork Fillet

5 Sep

I was going to leave posting a new recipe until the weekend – it’s something I look forward to now that I’ve started back at University. A nice little break from medicine. However, I just have to post this recipe because it is one of my favourite meals ever, and I’ve just had it for my tea so I am feeling incredibly happy right now. Despite being surrounded by textbooks. I have to let you in on a little secret though…..I’ve never actually cooked it – PD always treats me to it! It’s such good comfort food, and it’s relatively healthy too. I grew up in Asia and it’s one of the closest recipes that I’ve found to taste as authentic as I remember.

So, physiology can wait a little longer. Ahem. I can justify this by reminding myself that healthy food creates a healthy mind, and a healthy mind will help me remember important medical-saving-lives-things. Or something.

We tend to halve the recipe, use pork tenderloin which you can pick up from the local supermarket (not too expensive either!), and not use the red food colouring. It’s purely added for aesthetic reasons, and frankly it doesn’t really make a difference to the dish! We served it tonight with some basmati rice and 3 pak choi, chopped up and stir fried with two cloves of garlic, a splash of sesame oil and some fish sauce. Just as an additional note, I personally like the sauce so I’d keep the marinade and boil it up in a little pan (to get rid of the raw porky buggy nasties) to serve with the dish (PD’s not fussed about the sauce – clearly a matter of taste!). Honestly, this recipe is sooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooood. Just thinking about it is making me want it again. I wonder if PD would go for it again tomorrow…hmm…

Serves 4-6 (I’d say 4 is safest, if you’re anything like me)

  • 2 medium whole pork fillets
  • 1/4 cup soya sauce (dark)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 spring onion, sliced
  • 1 tsp grated ginger (I sneakily added a little bit more to the mix because I love ginger, tee hee)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp red food colouring (optional)
  1. Trim the fat from the meat. In a bowl, mix soya sauce, honey, sugar, garlic, spring onion, ginger, cinnamon and food colouring and stir to combine.
  2. Add the pork fillets, turning to coat. Leave to marinade for at least one hour (we normally aim for 3-4) in the fridge, and swish about occasionally.
  3. Place the pork on a rack over a roasting dish and bake at 190C for 20 minutes until the juices run clear when tested with a skewer. Baste with the marinade during the cooking time.
  4. Slice the pork and serve with your veggies of choice!
2 Responses to “Chinese Style Pork Fillet”

  1. Rebecca LeFever September 5, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    I love ginger, too. Gotta watch how much of those I use. This looks yummy.

    • DrinksAndNibbles September 5, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      Can never have too much ginger – its actually really good for you! I’ll have to post my ginger ice cream recipe soon!

Leave a Reply

