Mulligrubs Chicken

7 Sep

Now, ladies and gents, there’s no excuse for eating rubbish chicken. A few nights ago I had a serious case of the mulligrubs (what a beautiful word for the blues) and I really couldn’t be bothered to cook at all. However I’m intent on trying to eat healthily even when I’m feeling rubbish, and with PD on his way back from Oxford I felt an obligation to at least try. Luckily my last minute meal planning for the week meant that I had incorporated sun dried tomatoes and ricotta cheese into the weekly shop, so I didn’t even have to leave the house. This is something I’ve been making since I was about 13, so really – its ubereasy. Despite being so easy its actually pretty tasty, and its a fail safe which never seems to disappoint. I’m not sure where the inspiration came from, although I’m sure year 7/8 food technology played a part, and then I have just adapted it to suit my pantry/refrigerator/personal taste needs. I’m not even kidding – a monkey could make this, but it looks pretty good. I’m calling it ‘mulligrubs chicken’.

Serves 2
– 2 hearty chicken breasts
– ~10 black olives (plus a couple for nibbling, obviously)
– ~6-7 sun dried tomatoes plus table spoon of the oil in the jar
– a good handful of basil leaves, washed
– 125g ricotta cheese
– salt and pepper
– 2-4 rashers bacon or parma ham
– choice of salad to serve   

1. Chop all of the tomatoes, olives and basil leaves finely, and mix with the ricotta cheese. Add a pinch of salt and pepper and the table spoon of oil.
2. Cut the chicken breast horizontal-ways (not separating the breast) and stuff with a good tablespoon or so of the cheese mix.
3. Wrap the bacon/parma ham around the breast (you can use two to completely wrap the breast, or one to patch over the gap made by the cheese – secure with three cocktail sticks until cooked if needed).
4. Place in an oven proof dish and cook for 27-30 mins at 180C until cooked through.
5. Serve with salad and a good chilled white wine (we had a lovely Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc), and have a good heart to heart about life, the universe and everything, with somebody that means somebody. The mulligrubs will begin to fade soon. I promise x

Leave a Reply

