Spicy Salmon Fish Patties (and a note on salt)

25 Sep

I HATE WASTING FOOD. 

Seriously, it’s one of my massive pet hates. It’s just wasteful in so many ways – I won’t go off on one, but really, it is…and this provides the background to tonight’s little dinner experiment. I was fishing (ha) around the freezer the other day to see what goodies I could find and randomly found a few salmon fillets which I had completely forgotten about. Now I find that when some fish/meat has been frozen for a little while it’s not always as nice as it would have been had it not been frozen, and as these little salmon fillets had been in frozen slumber for a while I wasn’t too keen to just eat them on their own. They sometimes turn out a bit dry and uninspiring. So, I did a bit more rummaging and found some potatoes which were on their last legs, a couple of chillies with no home, and some bread which was getting too stale to use for sandwiches (even with my frugality). Fish cakes it was going to be.

I’ve only made fish cakes a couple of times, and I’m talking the big fat potatoey ones, not the delicious little Thai fish cakes (I’ll give you a recipe for them another time, they are one of my favourite things in the world if they’re done properly). In fact, I’m going to call them patties, because when I think of patties I think of potatoey cakes. Plus patties rhyme with tatties (err…..?). Anyway, they’re a fantastic way to use up any odd bits and pieces you’ve got lying around, and you can use any fish really. I wanted to make a fish pattie with a bit of spice and crunch, not just a plain old potato-salmon blob. It really is fantastically easy, just throw the cooked version of everything into a bowl, mush it up with your hands and then form little patties and cook them. Wham-bam-boom-and-it’s-there-upon-your-spoon type thing. I was quite happy with these – I’d put some more coriander in next time, and serve it with much more raw coriander sprinkled over the top (it did add a lovely flavour). I didn’t add salt to my mixture because I try to avoid cooking with salt where I can*, but I’d definitely put a sprinkling of salt and pepper in next time. These were quite hot with half a chilli, because PD and I looooooooveeeeee the chillies, so if you prefer yours a bit less bitey then I’d add half the chilli. Another idea to make it a bit more Asiany might be to add some lime zest/juice instead of the lemon, but turns out I had half a lemon in the fridge which I wanted to use up, so in it went!

I should also point out that these are a great source of both carbohydrate and protein, perfect for if you’ve just done a good work out. I’d just done my Tuesday circuits class followed by first football training of the season, so I was pretttttttty hungry, and these were filling, tasty, and still relatively healthy.

*A note on salt. Why does everyone keep talking about eating less salt?? To give you a very quick run through: too much salt in the diet causes the kidneys to hold on to water (the kidneys are pretty awesomely complex and intelligent organs actually). This is because salt changes the balance of ingredients in your blood, so you need more water in there to get it back to normal (a bit like adding too much salt to a stock – you need to add more water to make it taste okay). The problem is, when your blood vessels are packed with so much fluid, it causes your blood pressure to rise, and leads to hypertension. Hypertension is a pretty dangerous condition and it can lead to things like heart disease, stroke, heart attacks, visual problems and angina (pains in your chest). And because those awesomely complex and intelligent kidneys are working overtime to try and keep your blood normal, they eventually get pretty exhausted and start to get damaged themselves, which is not a good thing. So, do yourself a favour and instead of passing the salt, PASS ON THE SALT!  

Recipe (makes 4 mahoosive ones or 8 smaller ones; this is just to give you a guide, add in whatever you fancy!)

  • 2 salmon fillets, cooked (I baked mine the night before whilst cooking something else) and skin removed
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped finely
  • Half a medium red chilli, seeds removed and chopped finely
  • 3 spring onions, washed and thinly sliced (including green bits)
  • 6 small-med potatoes, peeled, boiled, mashed and cooled (this bit is important as otherwise the fish cake will fall apart!)
  • Handful or two fresh coriander washed and chopped
  • Handful of fresh coriander washed and not chopped (to serve)
  • Squeeze of lemon (to taste)
  • 1 egg, whisked with a fork and put into a shallow dish
  • Left over bread (a bit stale is good!)
  • S & P
  • Sweet chilli dipping sauce (to serve)

Preheat the oven to 200C.

  1. Fry the chilli and garlic gently over a medium heat. You don’t have to do this stage but I did it to remove a bit of the bitterness from the garlic.
  2. Flake the salmon with your fingers into a bowl, checking for any bones.
  3. Mix in potato, spring onions, chilli, garlic, chopped coriander and salt and pepper and give it a good mixy mushing with your hands until everything is evenly mixed.
  4. Shape the mixture into patties. As you can see from my photo I did four massive ones (I think I was super hungry) – it’s probably better to do 8 about half the size!
  5. Plonk into the eggy dish and turn, then coat liberally with the breadcrumbs.
  6. Fry with a little bit of oil over a medium heat for around 5 minutes on each side – watch that the breadcrumbs aren’t burning. If they are, turn down the heat a little.
  7. Place onto an oven tray and cook in the oven for around 10-15 minutes until the fish cakes are hot the whole way through (will take more or less time depending on the size of the pattie).
  8. Serve with a generous sprinkling of coriander and a good sweet chilli dipping sauce.
3 Responses to “Spicy Salmon Fish Patties (and a note on salt)”

  1. Jill macRae September 27, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I’m going to try them tomorrow-got some manky ingredients that will do nicely! Yours sounded delish! Jillx

    • DrinksAndNibbles September 27, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      ha, wonderful! Hope you are well, let me know what ingredients you use in yours and how they turn out 🙂 I think I’d definitely use more coriander next time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gravlax « DrinksAndNibbles - November 5, 2012

    […] food CAN be delicious), this is pretty high in salt, so just keep an eye on that (check out my earlier post about the health effects of too much salt in the diet). However, salmon is a great source […]

Leave a Reply

