Jamie Oliver’s butter beans and bacon

11 Oct

For some reason I absolutely love butter beans. I’m not entirely sure why, but every time I eat them, I love them a little bit more. The problem is, when I bought a tin of butter beans to actually cook myself, I had absolutely NO idea what to do with them. I’ve tried cooking them a few ways, but they always turn out really rather disappointing and bland. I was incredibly excited when my housemate cooked us dinner only to find that one of the sides she had knocked up had BUTTERBEANS in it! WIN! And they were absolutely delicious. Super easy to whip up, Jamie Oliver’s butter beans are part of his ‘super-fast beef hash, jacket potatoes, goddess salad, lovely butter beans and bacon’ 30 minute meal (let’s not start the debate as to whether or not his recipes are actually 30 minutes………), and they would be a great side for many meals. They were even really nice cold with some salad the next day!

If anyone has any other good recipes using butterbeans (which don’t entail soups!) please do share them as a comment below, I’d love some more inspiration.

(sorry again for the quality of the picture – I took it on my phone as the good camera was upstairs….and I was hungry….recurring theme…..ahem)

Recipe (serves 4, as a side)

  • 4 rashers of smoked streaky bacon, finely sliced
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 400g can of butter beans (plus juices)
  • red wine vinegar
  • 2 or 3 sprigs of fresh Greek basil or basil, leaves picked

Drizzle some olive oil into a hot pan and toss in the bacon. Fry up until golden and crispy (definitely make sure it’s golden, I didn’t when I cooked mine and it just didn’t have the same flavour).

On a high heat, add the tomatoes, butter beans (and juices) and simmer gently until the liquid reduces.

Add a good splash of the red wine vinegar, season, and scatter over the basil leaves.

Serve!

2 Responses to “Jamie Oliver’s butter beans and bacon”

  1. Karen March 18, 2014 at 6:14 pm #

    Love this recipe! I added a bit of chilli paste and it’s even nicer. And I’m with you, I absolutely love butter beans!!! Would happily eat this all the time but will search for more recipes and post any I find 🙂

    PS – no offence but your picture looks rubbish, it really does look much better in reality!

    • DrinksAndNibbles March 18, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

      Ha, I know! Taken on an old phone in bad lighting. By the time I had got the good camera they had all disappeared!

Leave a Reply

