Hot Toddy

21 Oct

 

 

This week has been pretty manic, so first off – apologies for the lack of posts. I have just started my first ever clinical placement, and I have absolutely loved the last two weeks. Needless to say, everything else has somewhat been sat on the back burner as I’ve also been quite poorly over the last week. As the cold, dark, miserable nights set in, I suppose it’s inevitable that people start to get ill, so this post is going to be all about the comforting wonders of the ‘hot toddy’.

I’ve read a couple of things about the history of this marvellous drink, and (much like most foodie history) some of the stories differ somewhat. It appears however that this comforting drink has its origins in India; ‘toddy’ is the name used to describe an alcoholic drink created from the fermentation of sap from the palm tree. How and when it became hot and infused with spices I have no idea, but other people seem quite quick to argue that it was actually invented by the Scots many years ago, to make whiskey more attractive to women. Hmm…

Who knows.

All I know is that besides mulled wine, this is one of my favourite tasty, warm you up from the inside comforting autumn drinks. In terms of whether or not it helps a cold…I’m sceptical. Depending on how much whiskey you put in it could probably knock you out, that’s for sure – sadly, I’m pretty sure you’ll wake up with a cracking headache the next day. I suppose if you use the logic that you’d be waking up with a sore head from the cold anyway…?? Medicinal properties aside, here’s my recipe for the perfect hot toddy!

 

– 2 capfuls of whiskey
– 1 clove
– 1 cinnamon stick
– 1-2 tsp honey (depending on taste)
– 2 slices lemon
– near boiling water

Put everything into a mug or thick glass (be careful with the very hot water – it might crack the glass if it’s not thick enough!), and top up with the water. Give it a good stir until the honey dissolves, snuggle up in a warm dressing gown and sip away to your hearts content. Yum.

Leave a Reply

