Hollandaise Sauce

31 Oct

This is just a super-duper quick one as I’m about to race off to PoleFit (yes, I’ve taken up pole dancing as a sport – it’s actually really hard work for the upper body…).

In my previous post about Pavlova I mentioned the left over egg yolks. Luckily one of my favourite breakfasts in the whole world is poached eggs on toast, so I thought I’d pimp them up a bit with some smoked salmon and Hollandaise sauce. To be honest, I don’t actually like Hollandaise sauce, but hey ho, I think it’s a good one to know how to make, and it was a good way to use up the egg yolks!

I’ve learned that it really MUST, must, MUSSSTTTT be done over a very low temperature, otherwise it will split. Which mine did, of course. As SOON as it starts to thicken, take it straight off the heat.

I did however  find a rescue method for split Hollandaise: I quickly looked up some ‘save my Hollandaise’ videos on youtube, and this guy has a fantastic (and ever so easy) video for saving it, which includes a tiny bit of boiling water and a metal bowl. Simples. What was also interesting was that by the time I’d eaten my yummy eggs and went back to the split sauce, I gave it a little whisk and it all came back together again – so I’m guessing that if it does split, another way to save it would be just to let it cool a little bit and it should be salvageable that way too (I’ve also read that you might be able to save it by adding in an ice cube!).

In terms of the flavour of this recipe, I can’t say I was overly impressed, and I’d be inclined to add some more cayenne pepper and possibly a pinch of white pepper too next time. Possibly also a bit of a white wine vinegar reduction? Bear in mind that I don’t really like Hollandaise though, so it might just be me! There are many, many different ways to make Hollandaise, but this one seemed the most simple and straight forward so I gave it a go. And no, there’s no way to make this healthy, I could feel it clogging up my arteries as I ate it…….just have a little bit!

Recipe (makes enough for four people IMO)

4 large free-range egg yolks
250g cold unsalted butter, diced
¼ lemon
Pinch cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper
2 tbsp water

1. Put the yolks, butter and 2 tbsp water in a heavy-based pan and heat very gently, whisking all the time. As the butter melts, the sauce will begin to thicken. Don’t stop whisking!

2. Once the butter has melted, turn up the heat to medium-low and whisk vigorously until it thickens: if it begins to steam, take it off the heat.

3. When the sauce has thickened, stir in 1 tbsp lemon juice, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper, and taste. Adjust if necessary. Serve immediately.

 

 

Leave a Reply

