Apple, oat and raisin breakfast muffins

10 Nov

There is something incredibly satisfying about waking up early on a Saturday morning, with no fuzzy head from sticking to the non-alcoholic bevvies the night before, and realising that half of London is probably still in bed, nursing an awful hangover. I do feel a post about alcohol coming on soon….

…but not today! I woke up with a spring in my step and whilst listening to the rain pattering down on our attic windows I felt it best to make the most of the early morning enthusiasm. I haven’t baked in a long time, mainly because I’ve been so busy with placement (I’m now on the acute medical unit, and I’ve managed to do quite a few exciting things!), and I had that urge to fill the house with that lovely freshly baked smell. However, I also wanted to get some work done, AND not leave the house for the rain, so it had to be something quick and easy. As you know I was given a load of apples a while back, and made some yummy things like chutney and apple cake, and with the left over apples I made some apple sauce. It’s really easy to make, I personally LOVE apple sauce, and it also freezes well – so I had a load left over in the freezer. It’s great for when those apples are just starting to turn, and you’re not sure what to do with them. I don’t really have a recipe, I just peel and core the apples, cube them, then stick them in a pan with a bit of water (I think I used around eight apples and 150-200ml water), a tablespoon of light brown sugar (white works too) and a teaspoon of ground cinnamon. Boil it up until the apples are nice and mushy and you can mush it a bit with a fork, leave it to cool, then whizz it all up into a rough puree. Yum!

Anyway, I hunted around a bit in the cupboards to see what we had and made some tweaks to a recipe for muffins I had found. As an interesting point, I’ve also read that apple sauce can be used as a substitute in place of many oils in baking. I’m not sure I wholly agree with this as oil gives many sponge recipes that fluffiness and lightness that I’m not convinced apple sauce would, but incidentally this recipe only uses three tablespoons of oil and no other fat. The muffins are actually quite healthy – the apple sauce was home made, so it had no nasty artificial additives (and very little sugar), I didn’t put very much sugar in the muffin mixture because the apples I used in the sauce were quite sweet and I added raisins to give it a little more sweetness, and as I mentioned, it contained practically zilch fat. Not a bad way to start the day!

The only thing I would say, is that these are definitely breakfast muffins. The oats really bulk them up and they are quite heavy, so don’t try and serve muffins up in place of cupcakes!  They are best served warm with a little butter or margarine and a good cup of tea. I would even suggest that they may be better as ‘mini’ muffins, served as part of a breakfast spread. Also, I was rather frustrated that they seemed to stick to the muffin cases (mainly frustrated because I’m a bit greedy, so I want to eat ALL of the muffin), but it was fine to scrape it off with a spoon. Next time I will try not using the muffin cases and just greasing the muffin tin well – I don’t think they should stick, but if you try it and they do please let me know.

Recipe (makes 12)

Muffins

  • 1.5 cups oats
  • 1.25 cups plain flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking bowder
  • 3/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 cup apple sauce
  • 1/2 cup semi skimmed milk
  • 1/4 cup soft brown sugar (plus a tablespoon if you prefer them a bit sweeter)
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 small handfuls raisins/sultanas

Topping

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp soft brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp margarine, melted

1. Heat oven to 180C (fan)

2. Line a 12 holed muffin tin with cases (or just grease them without the cases, might be better! see above)

3. Mix the topping mixture in a small bowl until well incorporated.

4. In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, cinnamon, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda.

5. Add the apple sauce, milk, sugar, oil, egg white and raisins and mix until incorporated.

6. Use a tablespoon to fill the cases.

7. Using your fingers, sprinkle the topping over the muffin mixture evenly and equally.

8. Bake in the centre of the preheated oven for around 22-24 minutes.

9. Serve warm with a little butter or margarine.

One Response to “Apple, oat and raisin breakfast muffins”

  1. wartica November 10, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Your body can’t go wrong with a mix of these three highly-nutritous foods; thanks for the great recipe:))

Leave a Reply

