Mint Chocolate Cupcakes

16 Dec

It had been an age since I’d baked anything, and I had forgotten how satisfying it is to see little cupcakes so neatly lined up, their swirls of icing all tidy and inviting. With a good friend’s birthday party in the evening, a wonderful number of baking books to draw inspiration from but a pile of work that needed to be done, I needed something that I could do quickly. And I did NOT want to do red velvet again!

mint choc web version

Ever since I was small I have absolutely loved mint chocolate chip ice cream, to the point that if I chose any other flavour as a child my parents would wonder whether there was something wrong. When my relatives heard I was coming, there would always be a tub of it in the freezer (yes, I was most definitely a chubby child). I don’t know what it is about mint and chocolate mixed together, but I for one adore it, so when I found a recipe for mint chocolate cupcakes I definitely wanted to give it a go! I changed the recipe up a bit to suit what I had in my cupboards, and PD popped out to buy some flakes to decorate them with. I originally wanted to bake them in ice cream cones to simulate the whole ice cream obsession, but I couldn’t find any flat bottomed ice cream cones. In hindsight I think it might have been a bit too much anyway – cupcake, chocolate, frosting, AND cone – but if you want to try it let me know how it goes. Next time I think I’ll throw a couple of handfuls of chocolate chips into the cupcake batter too, to give it a little more chocolatey-ness and a bit more crunch! I managed to do this all in an hour, including the washing up, so it’s fabulous for when you’re pushed for time but want something home made and yummy.

Recipe (makes ~12-15 cupcakes – not USA muffin size)

Cupcakes

  • 225g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 35g cocoa
  • 165g caster sugar
  • 185g butter (softened)
  • 3 eggs
  • 130ml milk

Frosting

  • 250g butter (softened)
  • 2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 400g icing sugar (you might want a little extra handy depending on your taste buds)
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • few drops green food colouring

Decorations

  • Flakes
  • Melted chocolate (I used milk chocolate – just under half a regular bar is enough)
  1. Preheat oven to 180C and line your cupcake tins with some pretty cupcake cases.
  2. Sift the flour, bicarb and baking powder into a bowl and give them a good mix together before adding the cocoa, sugar, butter, eggs and milk. Mix together until smooth and well combined with an electric hand whisk.
  3. Spoon into your prepared cases and bake for around 20 minutes. They should be springy to the touch and a skewer should come out clean. Take out of the oven, leave them in the tin for five minutes and then place on a cooling rack.
  4. While they’re baking, mix up the buttercream by mixing the butter and peppermint extract with an electric hand whisk until pale and smooth. Sift the icing sugar into the mix and add the milk, then whisk up the mix until it’s nice and smooth and there are no lumps. Add a few drops of green food colouring until you get the colour you want, and keep mixing.
  5. When the cupcakes are cool, you can pipe your frosting onto the top, or simply use a knife to shape it. Decorate with the flakes.
  6. Melt the chocolate in a bowl over a pan of simmering water (don’t let the bowl touch the water), and leave to cool slightly before spooning it into a small piping bag (you can easily use a plastic sandwich bag and then cut a tiny bit of a corner off when you’re ready to decorate). Drizzle over the top of the cupcakes, and you’re ready to rock and roll!
2 Responses to “Mint Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. Brittany December 17, 2012 at 2:00 am #

    These are gorgeous!! I bet they are so good too.

    • DrinksAndNibbles December 17, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Too good! Thanks for stopping by – just had a peruse of your blog, it looks awesome! You’ve bolstered my motivation to go for my run today…

Leave a Reply

