Merry Christmas!

28 Dec

I had all good intentions of keeping you updated with Christmas food and cooking, but as it always does, spending quality time with friends and family (and the rest of the time actually eating……my belly is expanding as we speak: note to self, must STOP eating cake for breakfast) has taken up lots and lots of much needed time. I hope you’re all having as much fun as I am!

I thought I’d just give you a sneaky peek at some of the delicious-ness of our Christmas, and a quick review of some new recipes which I’ve tried.

Turkey – always my favourite bit of Christmas food…and probably quite predictable, however I felt a need to include a picture of this one as it was 12.5 kg. TWELVE AND A HALF KILOS!? I think my dad might have got a little bit competitive at the superstore. I can just imagine him in line with all the other turkey-orderers, getting to the front and thinking, ‘Aha, I know what I can do…the BIGGEST TURKEY IN THE WORLD please!’ It was amazing. I am obviously happy as I am still eating turkey, and probably will be for at least another week. Or month. Or several months…

TURKEYYule Log: I have never made the Christmas log before as normally it’s my sister’s job. After a little bit of persuasion she let me do it this year, as I was desperate to give Mary Berry’s recipe a go. It turned out wonderfully! I added a few tablespoons of raspberries to the cream before rolling it up for the second time, as it’s something my mum always likes, and it was really delicious. In fact, I’d probably say the raspberries added a bit of much needed sharpness to an otherwise incredibly sweet dessert. I didn’t have time to pipe the ganache on, but instead used a fork to make it look ‘loggy’ and then piped only the ends of the log. A little tip is to assemble everything at the last minute, to prevent the very light sponge from going soggy.

Match a good wine: we enjoyed Blandy’s Duke of Clarence Madeira alongside this chocolatey pud. It’s a great match!

YULE LOG

Christmas Cake: Christmas cake and Christmas pudding are probably competing with the turkey for my favourite dish of the Christmas period. There is something about the yumminess of dried fruit in a delicious cakey shape with some wonderful marzipan and icing which I just cannot resist (much to the frustration of my normally quite disciplined, healthy self!). This year I tried Paul Hollywood’s recipe, and it worked out fabulously. One thing I’ve noticed about his recipes is that if you follow them to the letter, they will generally always work out perfectly. He knows his baking. This cake was probably one of the nicest fruit cakes that I’ve tried. The only change I made was to ‘feed’ it with a few tablespoons of brandy in the weeks running up to Christmas (don’t overdo it though, otherwise all you’ll taste is brandy! I added probably around 5-6 tbsp over the weeks).  The decorations are simply a layer of marzipan plus a layer of fondant, then coloured fondant to make the presents and santa, plus some little snowflake shapes made using a plunge cutter and painted with some shimmery dust.

CHRISTMAS CAKE

cakeWishing you all a very merry Christmas, and a happy, healthy and prosperous 2013!

One Response to “Merry Christmas!”

  1. Stephanie December 30, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    The yule log and cake look amazing!

Leave a Reply

