Easy squeazy lemon cheesecake

5 Mar

I’m so sorry…again, it has been much too long since I have written up some tasty culinary delight. Life has been crazy! Finished up my geriatrics placement (which I loved) and I’m now back at University. I also spent a wonderful last minute weekend up in Edinburgh which was so much fun, but a little over-indulgent! I did however walk up Arthur’s seat, so in my mind that walking cancelled out some of the delicious food, wine, cocktails, coffees and pastries (some reviews to follow).

This one is an absolute failsafe which I think I learned how to make at school when I was about 14 years old, and everyone seems to enjoy. I’ve experimented with it once or twice over the years, and the worst that has happened was that it went a little bit runny on an occasion that I only used two lemons. The trick is to make sure you have big fat juicy lemons; the acidic juice reacts with the fats and proteins in the condensed milk/cream cheese to apparently form a bit of a mesh which holds any liquid in a gelatinous suspension (again, science is cool!).

It’s particularly good when you know that you’re going to have a super busy week, a mid week dinner party and you have about 15 minutes to whip up a delicious pud. I’m not going to pretend that there are any health benefits to this…there are not, however it is one of the healthier recipes that I’ve found for cheesecake!

IMG_0211

Recipe (serves 6-8)

  • 10 digestive biscuits, bashed up to make nice crumbs
  • 50g unsalted butter, melted
  • 25g demerara sugar
  • 1 can condensed milk (397g)
  • 150ml single or double cream
  • 175g low fat cream cheese
  • 3 big fat chubby juicy lemons, washed

To make the base:

Once the butter is melted, mix the bashed up biscuit crumbs and sugar into it until well coated. Use this to form a nice base in a non stick cake tin (an 8ish inch tin is probably a good size). With the back of a metal spoon smooth the base and squash it together a bit so that it is nicely packed into place. Place in the fridge until you need it.

To make the filling:

Finely grate the rind of all lemons into a large bowl. Add the cream cheese, condensed milk and cream and whisk it up with an electric hand whisk until nice and smooth.

Juice the lemons into a small jug or mug and make sure there are no pips hiding. Slowly add the lemon juice in little bits at a time to the cheesy mixture, whisking after each addition. The filling will thicken up as you add the lemon juice. Give it a good old whisk (a little trick I use if I think my lemons are a bit ‘unjuicy’ is to have some bottled lemon juice handy and add a couple of tablespoons of that to the mix).

After having an obligatory little taste of the (now very delicious) filling, pour it over the refrigerated base (leaving a tiny bit at the bottom of the bowl) and leave to chill in the fridge overnight.

Now, get yourself a spoon and some of the left over digestive biscuits, and enjoy the little bit that you’ve left at the bottom of the bowl. NOM! Just a quick note too – I’ve found that some cake tins allow some of the yummy sugary lemony goo to leak out a tiny bit (it by no means affects anything to do with the cheesecake outcome, but does leave a bit of a mess), so it’s worth sticking the cake tin on a plate in the fridge just to be on the safe side!

2 Responses to “Easy squeazy lemon cheesecake”

  1. DrinksAndNibbles March 5, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

    Thrilled you guys like this one 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brew Lab, Edinburgh | DrinksAndNibbles - March 6, 2013

    […] as you know from my last post I spent a sneaky last minute weekend in Edinburgh. Pat has been working up there so I felt it only […]

Leave a Reply

