Healthy Ice Cream??!! Yes please!

16 Apr

Anybody who knows me knows that my absolute food weakness in life is ice cream…I love the stuff. Patrick physically has to remove the tub from my hands otherwise I am more than capable of sitting there and eating my way through the entire thing (this has occurred numerous times). I’ve been reading a little bit about freezing bananas and whizzing them up to make ‘ice cream’, but I was hugely sceptical that it would actually work. I am therefore huggggggggggely excited to tell you that it does actually work! (I appreciate that ‘chocolate’ is possibly not the best choice for the photo opportunity…ahem).

photo (1)

Take two small/medium bananas or one large banana, peel and freeze in a bag overnight. Chop into slices about as wide as your finger, place into a food processor with a dash of milk and three tablespoons of cocoa powder and whizz up until it looks like ice cream. It really works. I actually did a happy dance. Do keep whizzing – it will go through a stage where you wonder if it is actually going to come together, but it will! Just keep going. If it’s a bit too runny just stick it in the freezer for 15-20 minutes and give it time to harden up a bit. I also tried it with our mint-choc protein powder for an added protein kick, but I think the banana I used was a little too overripe and I’m really not a fan of ripe bananas so it had the very sweet aftertaste which I wasn’t so keen on; next time I’m going to try the plain cocoa one with a dash of mint essence. You could, of course, make it non-dairy by using a milk substitute (or you may not even need the milk).

Such a great healthy alternative to ice cream – bananas are superduped with potassium (essential for well, everything in our body really, especially blood pressure, heart function and ensuring our nerves work properly), they’re good for keeping you regular (not sure I should mention that with the above photo, errm…), keep you full for longer than high GI foods*, and they’re high in vitamins and minerals. They are still quite high in natural sugars though, so don’t think you can go eating hundreds of bananas! Compared to high fat cream and refined sugar however, they make a fantastic alternative to your shop-bought ice cream.

Definitely one of my top experiments! Yum!

*Just a note for you super health conscious keen beens, the riper the banana, the higher the GI, so don’t let the banana get too ripe before you freeze it. 

4 Responses to “Healthy Ice Cream??!! Yes please!”

  1. healthiestbeauty April 16, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

  2. themovingmuncher April 16, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Ooh I’ve only ever done this with solely bananas but I’m definitely going to try this with cocoa powder 🙂 It’s amazing what amazing desserts you can make with fruit and veg… my personal favourite is a chocolate-avocado recipe I made which sounds gross but is pure heaven!

    • DrinksAndNibbles April 16, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

      Not going to lie – the avocado-chocolate mix doesn’t jump out as a match made in heaven, haha, but I’ve just had a nosey at the recipe on your blog and it does look amazing! I’ll have to give it a go 😀

      • themovingmuncher April 18, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

        Hehe I thought the exact same thing (the word bleurgh comes to mind 😉 ) but was so glad I tried! Must be a ripe avocado and plenty of cocoa powder though I think 🙂

Leave a Reply

